
The Government today (January 25) announced the re-appointment of the chairman and 10 incumbent members and the appointment of three new members to the Advisory Committee on Cruise Industry (ACCI) for two years with effect from January 28.

The new members are Ms Gerica Ricci, Mr Dario Rustico and Mr Michael Wu.

The membership of the ACCI from January 28 will be as follows:

Chairman

Commissioner for Tourism

Members

Ms Anthea Cheung

Mr David Chua

Mr Ronnie Ho

Mr Joseph Lam

Mr Anthony Lau

Ms Susanna Lau

Mr Andrew Leung

Ms Lanny Leung

Ms Gerica Ricci

Mr Dario Rustico

Mr Richard Willis

Mr Michael Wu

Miss Linda Yuen

"We are grateful to the retiring members, Mr Massimo Brancaleoni and Mr Eddie Lau, for their invaluable contribution to the work of the ACCI during their tenure," a government spokesman said.

Since its establishment in January 2008, the ACCI has focused on developing cruise tourism in Hong Kong and the region, fostering co-operation with neighbouring coastal provinces on the Mainland for cruise itinerary development, enhancing manpower supply to cater for the needs of the cruise market, and facilitating interim berthing arrangements of cruise vessels.

"The Government is committed to developing Hong Kong into a regional cruise hub. We are pressing ahead with the new cruise terminal project at Kai Tak. Construction began in December 2009, and the first berth will commence operation in mid-2013. Upon the completion of the new cruise terminal, together with the existing two berths at Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong will have four berths for cruise vessels.

"Apart from hardware development, we also recognise the importance of software development. The ACCI, comprising key players in the cruise market and travel industry, will continue to advise the Government on measures to take forward the software development for the cruise market, and further Hong Kong's position as a leading regional cruise hub," the spokesman said.

Ends/Monday, January 25, 2010 Issued at HKT 15:23

NNNN